Pro drive, 40th anniversary, evolve or R3?

Place for discussions about the RX-8
Mazzarx8
Non Member
Non Member

Post by Mazzarx8 »

Hi people!
I’m looking at my first RX8 and my first ever rotary...
I’ve done my research and I know what I’m getting into,
Being a fairly confident, self taught mechanic, I have no issues in putting in some work!
I will be looking for one on a long term basis, to nourish, cherish and make my own!
There are a few on the market that have caught my eye!
What I wish to know is... what do we think will be the sought after model in the future?
The 40th anniversary, prodrive, evolve.... or the last but not least plain old R3?
There is a nice anniversary model up for a bit more than I want to pay, but it looks good and if it’s an investment I’m prepared to splash out!
There’s a pro drive edition, not far from me, well in budget and claiming a rebuild 3k ago, although be it by APEX ROTARY who I have been told to avoid... however, I’d risk it for a biscuit if Its h got a good shell, maybe could knock the price down and bite the bullet on the inevitable anyway rebuild when it came to it! If it’s worth it in rarity points???
The evolve I must admit... I’m not keen on the interior... but would it be an investment? Couple of maybes I’d have a look at on the market, again, I’m not keen and tbh would have to be a spanking example for me to buy!
The R3... obviously the newest of the bunch therefore SHOULD be in better condition?? The issues fixed from the series 1s and have that rare appeal.... but are they worth the money? I know a lot of people prefer the series 1 especially the looks (I agree) but are they going to be the ones that are worth putting the money into at the end of the day?
I’m also thinking (distant future after rebuild) of adding boost...
I’ve read it’s a lot harder on the R3s for various reasons??