Place for discussions about the RX-8
nintenjo
Former Member
Former Member
RX-8: 192
Colour: Velocity Red

Rebuild (self-removal advise).

Post by nintenjo »

My 05’ 192 has started to struggle a little with hot starts and although it’s never actually failed to turn over I suspect after 15 years and 44k miles the seals are starting to fail and a rebuild is due.

I am thinking of getting RRP to rebuild and street port the engine but I am on the fence weather I remove / refit the engine myself or not..

I’ve serviced the car fully a few times and fairly comfy under the hood but I am no expert or trained mechanic, so worried its too big a job.. and I am kidding myself I can’t undertake it.

Why strip it myself?

1. I’d like to clean and repaint a lot of parts that require engine removal which I can do whilst the rebuild is under taken.

2. It will save me nearly £500 on the rebuild.

3. I bought the car specifically to learn more and have a project to work on, but I’m aware if I get stuck mid strip down I can’t really go back.

Thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nickp47
Club Member
Club Member
RX-8: R3
Colour: Sparkling Black

Re: Rebuild (self-removal advise).

Post by Nickp47 »

If you are in a position to take your time then do it yourself, not only is it rewarding to do, it’s not really difficult. My skills are pretty basic but I did it without much drama.

Have you had the car compression tested? I wonder if being an early car it perhaps has an older type starter?
Jeags
Club Member
Club Member
RX-8: 231
Colour: Metropolitan Grey

Post by Jeags »