mzivtins
Club Member
Club Member
RX-8: 231
Colour: Brilliant Black
Has thanked: 0

High Copper anti-seize on wheels fittings

Post by mzivtins »

If you're lucky enough to fit zinc coated studs from ARP or someone similar, you rarely have to worry about galling/cold-welding/seizing threads.

What happens on stock cars lug nuts and lug bolts?

As divisive as:
xbox vs playstation
tea vs coffee

I bring you! To copper grease vs No copper grease! :lol:

Is it just misconception that adding a lubricant to a thread causes it to come loose by its own nature?

On brand new cars the Lug bolts tend to have some form of oil residue (probably from manufacturing)

There should be a clear definitive answer on this, but usually its "i've been a mechanic for 50 years blah blah" but that's not science, anyone have the information to put this to bed?

Relevant to rx8 because mixing of fasters means copper should always be used to avoid problems
PeteH
Former Member
Former Member
Colour: Custom

Re: High Copper anti-seize on wheels fittings

Post by PeteH »

I can give you my experience from designing the suspension fixing for the Freelander. We prohibited the use of grease. The reason is that fixings rely on a known friction value between the threads, and also between the fixing head and the component. The friction value we designed to was 0.1 to 0.12. If you use grease then the friction can drop to 0.05 or lower. When you torque the fixing up the reduced friction increases the tensile stress in the fixing, and since we designed to 85% of proof load, greasing the fixing could (in theory) cause the fixing to fail during torque up.

It's unlikely that the reduced friction in the threads would cause the fixing to "self-undo". I know that Mazda designed to less than 85% proof load, and have much wider tolerance than we used, so I am generally happy to add a bit of grease to the fixings in order to avoid corrosion issues.