Place for discussions about the RX-8
Rich947
Former Member
Former Member
RX-8: Nemesis
Colour: Copper Red

How much dirt on spark plugs is normal?

Post by Rich947 »

I'm trying to get mine to start after a prolonged period where I think it was left flooded (I was away for a few months and someone tried to start it then left it until I came back).

Following advice on here I've removed the spark plugs, I've never done this before and they seem a lot dirtier than I was expecting? Is this normal? They also initially looked wet and there was a strong smell of fuel. I've turned it over a couple of times with them out which produces a large white cloud, strong smell of fuel and liquid of some description dribbling from where the spark plugs go - my plan at the moment is to keep doing this until I stop getting the cloud then try again with a new set of spark plugs?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Nickp47
Club Member
Club Member
RX-8: R3
Colour: Sparkling Black

Re: How much dirt on spark plugs is normal?

Post by Nickp47 »

Hi Rich, from what I can see they look fairly well used so a good idea would be to change them.

Are you cutting the fuel when turning the car over? Either by keeping your foot hard down in accelerator or removing fuel pump relay?
Rich947
Former Member
Former Member

Post by Rich947 »

Aye, I've removed the fuel pump fuse so my understanding is that means no fuel is being added? I'm a little unsure as from my understanding oil is still added, but I don't think that would be enough to cause the smoke?

Sorry if these are basic questions - am very much new to this...!
Nickp47
Club Member
Club Member

Post by Nickp47 »

I was going to say the white smoke is excess fuel burning off but if the plugs are out I am not sure this would be the case?