Place for discussions about the RX-8
PeteH
Former Member
Former Member
RX-8: 231
Colour: Custom

Keyboard shortcuts for dummies

Post by PeteH »

It is commonly understood that rotaries have significantly higher EGTs than piston engined cars. I have no specific knowledge either way. But it did lead me to add a calculation for EGTs to my combustion model. Without any particular fiddling I got the following rather interesting result for a stock 231:
EGTs.jpg
The Internet says that EGTs should be kept below 900degC (again, I have no specific knowledge either way, and it does sound like a random number, but I have nothing better). So this turned out to be a far more interesting result than I was expecting. In my model the 231 passes 900degC at about 9500rpm. :-k

For interest, the plots below shows the e-shaft torque, and the actual combustion gas pressure and temperature through the "squeeze and bang" phases of the 4 stroke cycle. These plots are at 5500rpm (peak torque), and with the ignition timing set to 33deg (which I identified as MBT):
Torque.jpg
Pressure.jpg
Temperature.jpg
In case you are wondering, the mean torque over the cycle is 219Nm.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
These users thanked the author PeteH for the post:
warpc0il (Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:48 pm)
13Black
Former Member
Former Member
Colour: Velocity Red

Re: Exhaust gas temperatures EGTs

Post by 13Black »

But what about the random number to convert gas mass to EGT :P

I spotted 270 degree stroke, good boi. Scrooby snacc for Pete.

I recall Racing Beat saying something about EGTs in that region being some sort of safe max. How this was derived, I'm not sure.
I would assume that their measurements were in the manifold and would be a smidge cooler than the theoretical max.
I've been meaning to get a usable EGT setup but so far, not much joy. Latency and the lack of steady state conditions have made previous attempts a waste of time.