What is a D585 coil?

Details of any aftermarket goods for the RX8.
Remember that this may invalidate the warranty. - The club takes no responsibility at all for any aftermarket additions to the car.
PeteH
Committee Member
Committee Member
RX-8: 231
Colour: Custom

What is a D585 coil?

Post by PeteH » Tue Mar 26, 2019 7:00 pm

Yes, I know..... Bear with me..... I have often wondered about the D585 coils. What they really are. What their original source is. And what the options are. So I've been doing a bit of research.

Firstly, I'm not a coil expert, and there are people on here that know far more than I do, so anyone please feel free to chip in with amendments and suggestions. All I ask is that this thread is kept "clean" from people commenting about how good or bad their particular coils are. It won't help anyone if these thread becomes just another "coils thread"......

Secondly, what follows is very specifically a look at the sources and supply options for the D585 coil, and its competitors in the aftermarket. It is not a technical look at the D585 coil. And it is not a review of the various coil options for the RX-8. My personal view is that the RRP Mark 2 coil is probably the highest performing coil available for the RX-8, and is likely to be a very reliable option. The Mazda version C, and the D585 kit from Rotary Revs are also good options. But, if you are brave, don't mind making your own brackets, and sourcing your own adaptor leads, and don't mind taking a punt, then the following might give you some ideas for how to put your own coil pack together for your rex. But I won't be using any of the following.....