R3 Head unit change

Details of any aftermarket goods for the RX8.
Remember that this may invalidate the warranty. - The club takes no responsibility at all for any aftermarket additions to the car.
Post Reply
Deadly_Viper
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Southampton
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

R3 Head unit change

Post by Deadly_Viper » Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:36 pm

If this has been answered before I apologise, please point me in the right direction.

I have done a search on here and other places about upgrading the head unit in the R3 but cant seem to find a definitive answer. Do the air con controls still get in the way meaning you need to buy the expensive faceplate adaptor? Can the original Bose amplifier be used or is a lot of rewiring needed?

Has anyone upgraded theirs?

Thanks
~Nick~

User avatar
RX8R3Rod
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 3135
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:39 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Custom
Location: Newark-on-Trent
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by RX8R3Rod » Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:00 pm

Hi Nick,

When you mention changing the head unit do you mean for another version of the same (eg for using a lower version of the firmware for compatibility with some accessories), or for an aftermarket (eg touchscreen) model?
Aluminium R3 Nov 2010
Cusco Zero 2 coilovers & ECON, K-Sport BBK 8-pot forge 356mm front, 4-pot BBK 330 mm rear, 20" OZ Ultraleggera, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/30/20, Pettit exhaust, Pettit front and RB rear ARB's, Cusco strut and brake brace, Full Paintshield, Rustmaster and Rustbuster, M'Z Custom nose and rear skirts
190 Winning Blue 05-08, R3 Aurora Blue 08-10 ... fabulous friends

Deadly_Viper
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Southampton
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Deadly_Viper » Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:02 pm

I was thinking about upgrading to a touch screen one with surround sound capability to fit with the cars existing speaker wiring.
~Nick~

User avatar
RX8R3Rod
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 3135
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:39 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Custom
Location: Newark-on-Trent
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by RX8R3Rod » Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:41 pm

I don't know if this link is any help?

http://www.corksport.com/index.php?disp ... t_id=32755
Aluminium R3 Nov 2010
Cusco Zero 2 coilovers & ECON, K-Sport BBK 8-pot forge 356mm front, 4-pot BBK 330 mm rear, 20" OZ Ultraleggera, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/30/20, Pettit exhaust, Pettit front and RB rear ARB's, Cusco strut and brake brace, Full Paintshield, Rustmaster and Rustbuster, M'Z Custom nose and rear skirts
190 Winning Blue 05-08, R3 Aurora Blue 08-10 ... fabulous friends

Deadly_Viper
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Southampton
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Deadly_Viper » Sun Jul 08, 2012 2:00 pm

Yeah thats what I am after, shame its not in the uk though.
~Nick~

User avatar
warnock360
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:08 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Custom
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by warnock360 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:40 pm

I haven't looked in the link above but you will have to consider the ohm output of your new headunit and compatibility with the bose speakers as I believe their impedance is different (front to back) and the ohms aren't all conventional ones. From what I have heard of other peoples ICE builds it is often easier to change all the speakers and wiring!
Done: Windows tinted, carbon fibre strakes, xcarlink, k&n panel filter, VIBE 12" 1000W sub, Audiobahn 800W Mono amp, offset number plate, black badges, fly eyes light tints front and back, ET500 pads, De-cat, custom paintwork, custom alloys, D585 coils

To do: cat back exhaust,drilled and grooved discs, coilovers

Deadly_Viper
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Southampton
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Deadly_Viper » Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:39 pm

On the link it has a device to make after-market stereos compatible with the Bose system, that might alter the ohm's.
~Nick~

User avatar
RX8R3Rod
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 3135
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:39 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Custom
Location: Newark-on-Trent
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by RX8R3Rod » Sun Jul 08, 2012 6:46 pm

I believe that's the thing. If you've not seen it, there's a pretty helpful thread about changing the head unit on R3's on RX8club.com
Aluminium R3 Nov 2010
Cusco Zero 2 coilovers & ECON, K-Sport BBK 8-pot forge 356mm front, 4-pot BBK 330 mm rear, 20" OZ Ultraleggera, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/30/20, Pettit exhaust, Pettit front and RB rear ARB's, Cusco strut and brake brace, Full Paintshield, Rustmaster and Rustbuster, M'Z Custom nose and rear skirts
190 Winning Blue 05-08, R3 Aurora Blue 08-10 ... fabulous friends

User avatar
SeanP
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 6675
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 1:06 am
RX-8: R3
Colour: Diamond Grey
Location: South Bucks, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by SeanP » Sun Jul 08, 2012 8:28 pm

R3 is different to the Series 1 - I beleive the head unit is easier to change, because it does not include as many of the controls that the old one did. i.e. driving the LCD display (as RxDuino project shows - this can now be updated from the CAN bus!).

Painmon.soror@rx8club.com (doing the RxDuino project) has an after-market head unit; which is why he's hit some problems with the OEM radio kit / Bluetooth etc. "fighting" for the display with the RxDuino (but he's now worked out he proper way to do this!). :)
R3, Diamond Grey = :twisted: HUGE smiles :twisted:
RoSPA & IAM (NO) Advanced Driving Tutor; Safe+Systematic+Smooth+Sparkle=FUN! Hayward rebuild@45K(s)miles, 17.5 MPG.
🏁Green Hell :D, Spa :D, AutoSolos 10+, Donnington, Oulton, Blyton, Prodrive x3, Thruxton, Brands Hatch x3, NorthWeald x5, Bedford SW. (Vids, Pics)🏁;
Never forget (28/08/09): 231, Titanium Grey, Leather.

User avatar
warnock360
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:08 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Custom
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by warnock360 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:16 pm

Right, I've had time to have a look at the link now (sorry for being lazy earlier, its been a busy day) by the looks of it the kit has a standard adapter to give you all the outputs required but from the pic I can't see anything that would change the impedance.

It may be fine, however running different impendences to what the speakers are designed to do may cause overheating and power issues with the head unit or damage the speakers. Most head units will be 4 ohms output as standard and I think the Bose aren't running 4 ohms (I think 2 ohms back and 0.5 front!). There are some complicated ways of getting around this issue but that will include some clever wiring and maths! and possibly compromise sound quality. [urlw=http://www.ehow.com/how_5068180_measure ... dance.html]This[/urlw] briefly at the start gives an idea of what could go wrong.

You can raise impedance of a speaker using [urlw=http://www.ehow.com/how_12044672_raise- ... akers.html]this[/urlw] technique.

Although whilst writing all of this and thinking about it all a bit more the above although technically correct I may be talking utter BS when it comes to the rex (I couldn't bring myself to delete all the above) on the basis that the amps that drive the speakers (the ones in the doors etc) will probably be setting the impedance and not the head unit. Although I am at the limit of my ICE knowledge and am not entirely sure what would happen when you have one amp (the head unit) at 4 ohm going into the individual amps. Will input impedance have an effect on what impedance comes out of the amps? I guess if we (or someone) knows what impedance output the standard head unit sends the signal to the slave amps it would be easier to know what effect this could have.

As with most things on the rex, nothing is simple and that's why we love them!

Hopefully someone can scrutinise what I have said and we can then move forward from there as I am sure there are a few people that would like to know what options / pitfalls there are when it comes to changing out the head unit.

my head hurts :bom:
Done: Windows tinted, carbon fibre strakes, xcarlink, k&n panel filter, VIBE 12" 1000W sub, Audiobahn 800W Mono amp, offset number plate, black badges, fly eyes light tints front and back, ET500 pads, De-cat, custom paintwork, custom alloys, D585 coils

To do: cat back exhaust,drilled and grooved discs, coilovers

User avatar
RX8R3Rod
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 3135
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:39 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Custom
Location: Newark-on-Trent
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by RX8R3Rod » Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:28 pm

You are definitely right in saying that it's the individual ICE power amps that see and deal with the Bose speaker's apparently low impedance, and the head unit drives those.

Although impedance can be an issue here, generally a driving module ( the head unit in this case, which is analogous to a pre-amp in a 'proper' Hi-Fi system) will have a low output impedance and the power amps will have a high input impedance ... and everything will get on famously.
Aluminium R3 Nov 2010
Cusco Zero 2 coilovers & ECON, K-Sport BBK 8-pot forge 356mm front, 4-pot BBK 330 mm rear, 20" OZ Ultraleggera, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/30/20, Pettit exhaust, Pettit front and RB rear ARB's, Cusco strut and brake brace, Full Paintshield, Rustmaster and Rustbuster, M'Z Custom nose and rear skirts
190 Winning Blue 05-08, R3 Aurora Blue 08-10 ... fabulous friends

Deadly_Viper
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Southampton
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Deadly_Viper » Fri Jul 13, 2012 5:42 pm

Gosh its all very complicated, I think I might just stick with the standard head unit, its not that bad after all, and use the money on some mechanical add on's :)
~Nick~

User avatar
warnock360
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:08 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Custom
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by warnock360 » Fri Jul 13, 2012 5:55 pm

apart from having a shiney touch screen were there any other benefits you wanted to get from upgrading?
Done: Windows tinted, carbon fibre strakes, xcarlink, k&n panel filter, VIBE 12" 1000W sub, Audiobahn 800W Mono amp, offset number plate, black badges, fly eyes light tints front and back, ET500 pads, De-cat, custom paintwork, custom alloys, D585 coils

To do: cat back exhaust,drilled and grooved discs, coilovers

Deadly_Viper
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Southampton
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Deadly_Viper » Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:21 pm

Not much, just having a cool touch screen and maybe the abillity to link up reversing camera or OBD2 BT reader to it.
~Nick~

User avatar
warnock360
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:08 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Custom
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by warnock360 » Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:30 pm

It might be worth considering looking into a carputer or fitting a tablet pc where the sat nav is on some cars (I haven't seen the inside of an R3, so someone might want to confirm this can be done). That way you don't have the problems talked about above and then you can have the touch screen, camera (maybe), OBD2 going to torque (if you go android) and also use it as a sat nav!
Done: Windows tinted, carbon fibre strakes, xcarlink, k&n panel filter, VIBE 12" 1000W sub, Audiobahn 800W Mono amp, offset number plate, black badges, fly eyes light tints front and back, ET500 pads, De-cat, custom paintwork, custom alloys, D585 coils

To do: cat back exhaust,drilled and grooved discs, coilovers

Deadly_Viper
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:12 am
Location: Southampton
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Deadly_Viper » Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:43 pm

Where the pop up screen was in the S1 there is not a great big plastic speaker cover where the centre speaker and microphone for the hands free is. It would have to be located somewhere completely new.
~Nick~

User avatar
warnock360
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:08 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Custom
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by warnock360 » Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:46 pm

ahh so much for that idea then!
Done: Windows tinted, carbon fibre strakes, xcarlink, k&n panel filter, VIBE 12" 1000W sub, Audiobahn 800W Mono amp, offset number plate, black badges, fly eyes light tints front and back, ET500 pads, De-cat, custom paintwork, custom alloys, D585 coils

To do: cat back exhaust,drilled and grooved discs, coilovers

User avatar
Speedy36
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 5172
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:06 pm
Location: Leeds
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Speedy36 » Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:38 pm

Velocity Vinnie would be the one o speak to on this......although he hasnt the R3 he has a vast knowledge off all mods and is still currently sorting his ice out.

Good luck.....would like to do mine but no funds #-o
Sunlight Silver 231 2006 to 2008
Black Civic Type R EP3 Final Edition 2008 to 2009
Pearlescent R3 2009 to 2013 gone and sadly missed
MX5 Sport Tech 2013 to present 8)

Eitan_:DDDu
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Crystal White
Location: Edinburgh
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Eitan_:DDDu » Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:02 pm

R3's a/c+HU is different from S1's, and that was confirmed by multiple threads here and there, also people who replied you above. I have had the same idea to go for an aftermarket HU to replace the crappy stock one since it does nothing but plays audio. And the 8's windscreen is at a quite interesting angle for a tall guy like me 6'8'' so it's pain in the axxx every time I try to use my phone as sat nav with the holder.

As for the facia kit, I found one on ebay costs Β£20 lol. Try to search these keywords: CT24MZ17 Single or Double Din Fascia Adaptor Kit Black for Mazda RX-8 2009-2011

Goobie has a R3 and done a lot of works on it, you can have a search. Looking forward to hearing from your job done :D

User avatar
SeeJay
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 3792
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:17 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Sparkling Black
Location: Nottingham
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 373 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by SeeJay » Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:55 pm

Holy thread revival,Batman :!: :shock:
These users thanked the author SeeJay for the post:
kopite72 (Thu Oct 25, 2018 6:26 pm)
2008 Sparkling Black R3 ●Japspeed Sportcat & Toyo Catback ● Drilled/grooved discs ● Simota Induction Kit ● D585 Coils ● Braided S/S lines ● Polished Engine Bay ● DRL's ● 2011 Spec Gearbox ●LED Side & fogs ● Calibre GT-R rims ● Michelin Pilot Sport 3 255/35 19 ● Nissan GTR spoiler ● RacingBeat ARB's ● Tein coilovers ● BHR motor mounts ● Amemiya Grille ● CL RC5 pads

Eitan_:DDDu
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Crystal White
Location: Edinburgh
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Eitan_:DDDu » Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:24 am

SeeJay wrote: ↑
Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:55 pm
Holy thread revival,Batman :!: :shock:
LAWL, probably im digging too deep. I cant find a complete guide around here so still looking and hoping that something/anything helpful would pop up. Maybe I will do one after i have my HU changed successfully xD.

User avatar
Ray888
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:37 pm
RX-8: R3
Colour: Aluminium Silver
Location: Cambridgeshire
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: R3 Head unit change

Post by Ray888 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:24 am

Have you tried this thread?

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=74563&hilit=R3+stereo

I recently replaced my R3 unit with the facia kit. The heating controls are not part of the head unit like the S1. So can just transfer it to the new Metra kit facia.

To conclude the install of the head unit, i tapped into the orange&black wire to the main stereo loom with the blue amp wire from the Bose converter to get the speakers to work. If you plug everything in using just the harnesses then the speakers wont work
偉 ζ–‡
Ray

Post Reply

Return to β€œAftermarket”