Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Area for car DIY ideas and how-to's - NOT questions.
Fitting strakes, taking the bumper off, or changing exhaust...
User avatar
neizt
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:05 pm
RX-8: Evolve
Colour: Copper Red
Location: Preston, Lancashire, England
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by neizt » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:36 pm

Thought I would add my experience with this...

Bought the 4 pin brake switch from ebay easily enough, but the cruise control buttons I had to buy from the USA at great cost #-o (also on ebay).

Anyway, on my 2006 Evolve it was simply a case of running the script which worked fine. Swapping out the steering wheel buttons and the brake light switch. All wiring was already in the loom so no wiring modification was required (apart from the earth connector behind the airbag).

Now all working perfectly, Thank you!

Image
These users thanked the author neizt for the post:
JamieM (Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:58 am)

User avatar
Yorindesarin
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:40 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Velocity Red
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 235 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by Yorindesarin » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:01 pm

How much did the cruise buttons set you back?

qwakers
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 3299
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:56 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Sunlight Silver
Location: cornwall
Has thanked: 166 times
Been thanked: 570 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by qwakers » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:28 pm

they aint cheap, in most cases its easier and cheaper to fit a different steering wheel.

User avatar
neizt
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:05 pm
RX-8: Evolve
Colour: Copper Red
Location: Preston, Lancashire, England
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by neizt » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:36 pm

Yorindesarin wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:01 pm
How much did the cruise buttons set you back?
I paid over £80 delivered. Made my eyes water!

Thankfully no import tax when they where delivered though :lol:

User avatar
Yorindesarin
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:40 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Velocity Red
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 235 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by Yorindesarin » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:37 pm

Ooft thats ridiculous! I'm tempted to put CC on my car... But I think it'll have to wait a while!

qwakers
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 3299
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:56 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Sunlight Silver
Location: cornwall
Has thanked: 166 times
Been thanked: 570 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by qwakers » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:39 pm

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2004-Mazda-RX8 ... %7Ciid%3A1


the trick is to use ebay.com. it doesnt matter if the seller ships to the uk or not, the ebay global shipping program deals with it...
These users thanked the author qwakers for the post:
Ranjan (Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:27 pm)

User avatar
neizt
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:05 pm
RX-8: Evolve
Colour: Copper Red
Location: Preston, Lancashire, England
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by neizt » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:41 pm

qwakers wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:28 pm
they aint cheap, in most cases its easier and cheaper to fit a different steering wheel.
I did consider this, I actually bought a cheap Mazda 6 wheel but I love my fitted wheel too much...

Image

User avatar
Yorindesarin
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:40 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Velocity Red
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 235 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by Yorindesarin » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:46 pm

That is indeed a nice wheel. I'm in no rush to get CC, I live in the sticks so its not really going to get a lot of useage right now! Maybe next year after my exhaust and brake overhaul hopefully happens!

Bookmarked those for later cheers!

User avatar
JamieM
Former Member
Former Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:23 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Brilliant Black
Location: Cambourne
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by JamieM » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:03 am

Gone are the days of getting an entire US steering wheel (minus airbag of course) for £20-30 then :roll: Think that's about what I paid for mine a few years ago, delivered, if I remember correctly. Maybe because the wheel was completely shagged with all the leather peeling off, but I didn't care about that as obviously all I wanted was the buttons - the outer wheel itself ultimately went in the bin ;)
rx8cc author (cruise control mod)
  • '54 Sunlight Silver 231 - Retired due to rust, engine & ecu transplanted into:
  • '55 Brilliant Black 231
    LC Full bridge, RR D585s, RRP sports cat, Cobra catback, AEM intake, Exedy stage 1 clutch & ultralight flywheel, M1144 pads, shortshifter, MS-style skirts, rear spats etc, custom 350W RMS cabin-firing sub build (ski hatch), cruise control (obvs)
  • '52 Black Turbo MX-5

User avatar
ShuffleFun
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:58 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Strato Blue
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by ShuffleFun » Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:39 pm

Does anyone have a ELM interface that they know works I can borrow that they can send me / I can pick up near Bristol? I have bought 2 from ebay, and both provide me the "IndexError: list index out of range, Failed to execute script rx8cc" error that has previously been solved by using a reliable ELM interface.

User avatar
Paul_13
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:53 pm
RX-8: 231
Location: Basingstoke
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by Paul_13 » Thu Apr 02, 2020 9:49 pm

Use forscan and your existing USB cable. I have been able to edit pcm as built data.
I'm pretty certain that forscan has enabled that function now.
If not, I have a beta version they created for me I can send to you

User avatar
warpc0il
Spin Doctor
Spin Doctor
Posts: 24583
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:56 pm
RX-8: 231
Colour: Lightning Yellow
Location: Groomsport, Co Down, NI
Has thanked: 399 times
Been thanked: 1572 times
Contact:

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by warpc0il » Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:37 pm

I just happened to be hacking browsing the Mazda B2B site, taking a guess at some of the directories that may exist the other side of the firewall*, when I found this...

https://www5.b2b.mazda.co.jp/asbuilt/fa ... l&direct=1

Basically it allows you to view/download the As Built PCM data for any Mazda, just by inputting the VIN.
It worked for mine so, hopefully it would work for yours too.

I've included this information in this thread as it's the only one I'm aware of where the As Built data is of significant interest.

As with many corporate security systems, it's only "tested" to show the customer (Mazda management) that click-thru navigation requires authority. It doesn't prevent anyone going to anything directly, as long as they know, or can guess, that it exists [-X
Dave
The Spin Doctor ™
uǝǝɹɔs ɹnoʎ ʇɹǝʌuı ǝsɐǝld :ɹoɹɹǝ

User avatar
Paul_13
Club Member
Club Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:53 pm
RX-8: 231
Location: Basingstoke
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Enabling Cruise Control on the S1 - As-Built Data Mod

Post by Paul_13 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:34 pm

That's how they figured out what bytes in the as built were changed to activate the cruise control

Post Reply

Return to “DIY”